Asylums record label, Cool Thing Records presents exclusive label sampler “An Introduction”

By Penny Bennett

Asylums have been running their own label,  Cool Thing Records, since August 2014 when they released their debut single ‘The Death Of Television’.

In between Asylums debut album ‘Killer Brain Waves’ (July 2016) and their highly anticipated forthcoming sophomore album ‘Alien Human Emotions’ (July 2018) they have released a series of critically acclaimed singles by The Horse Heads, Indian Queens, Beckie Margaret, Suspects, BAIT and Petty Phase.

“We started our label with a few friends back in 2014 as a simple way to facilitate releases for Asylums. We felt at the time that it would allow us some freedom and spontaneity over the process of releasing music and remove any pressure we might have felt under the gladiatorial conditions of the music industry. As we have evolved and built a roster we have tried to incubate a creative community that allows other artists the same freedom and support through the process of developing and releasing new work. Essentially we are still just big record nerds having fun and learning as we go and it’s a huge honour to work with every act that puts faith in us”  Luke Branch explains.

Check out the Cool Thing Records sampler below entitled ‘An Introduction’

Asylums have also announced the release of their highly anticipated sophomore album “Alien Human Emotions” which is set for July 6th release. You can pre-order the album here and receive an instant download of “When We Wake Up” and current single “Millennials”.

Asylums aren’t waiting for millennial redemption to find them, they’re making their own. Straight out of Essex and running at full throttle.  The band have taken the challenge of the “difficult” second album and used it as a jump ramp to a higher plane. They’ve always been about massive, thrashing melodic anthems but this is, quite simply, the massivist. The band has changed fundamentally in the last two years, certainly older and potentially wiser. A project that started out as a fizzing ball of un-focused youthful energy (albeit one with great tunes) has morphed into something altogether darker and more intense. It’s a slug of ice-cold Jagermeister coming after the two pints of lager and a vodka Red Bull of the debut.

“Alien Human Emotions” tackles themes of bitter sex and soured relationships which swirl over bleak analyses of a disintegrating social and political landscape. Frustrated rage writhes below the surface on every track and occasionally bursts through with a shocking intensity. But everywhere are hooks both musical and lyrical that demand repeat listens. The music seeping through owes as much to the brooding darkness of The Cure as it does to the disjointed mind of Flaming Lips singer Wayne Coyne, both of which only add to the dark danceability of the album.

Asylums play the following shows:


9 Rough Trade, Bristol

10 Rough Trade, Nottingham

11 Rough Trade East, London

14 2000trees Festival, Cheltenham

20 The Summer Westival,  Aldershot


3 Neverworld Festival, Tunbridge Wells


1 Wilkestock, Frogmore Hill, Hertford

7 Wheels and Fins Festival, Josh Bay Beach,   Kent


6 Neighbourhood Festival, Manchester


3 2Q Festival, Lincoln

9 Camden Assembly, London


Photo Credit : Kana Waiwaiku