Our Team

By James Brown

Punktastic has been a platform for underground music for over fifteen years. Though the staff has changed, the mission hasn’t. We’re a committed and dedicated group of passionate music fans that enjoy talking about punk, rock, metal, and hardcore. We’re real music fans talking about real music, and Punktastic is our labour of love.

Thanks to a whole host of contributors and staff who have dedicated their time, we’re now hugely proud to sponsor stages at major festivals, organise exclusive shows in the UK, Europe and the US, and to provide up-to-date, honest and interesting coverage for a whole host of bands.

We try to help you discover music you wouldn’t find anywhere else. We do that by giving bands exposure we think they deserve, telling the truth about what’s going on, and sometimes by getting our hands dirty and changing the scene ourselves.

Paul Savage founded the site back in 2000, leaving in 2010. New owner/publisher James Brown took over and worked with editor Tom Aylott until mid-2014 when Ben Tipple succeeded him as editor. In October 2016, Glen Bushell became our new editor in chief.

Many people make Punktastic possible:

James Brown – MD and Publisher
Glen Bushell – Editor-in-chief
Penny Bennett – Deputy Editor
Kathryn Black – Reviews Editor
Mark Johnson – Reviews Editor
Mark Gadong – Video Editor
Aaron Lohan – News Editor
Thomas Gane – POV Editor
Sam Smith – London Events Promoter

Chris Hilson – Staff Writer
Christopher Lee – Staff Writer
Conor Mackie – Staff Writer
James Davenport – Staff Writer
James Lee – Staff Writer
Jess Tagliani – Staff Writer
Olly Hanks – Staff Photographer
Rhian Wilkinson – Staff Writer
Steven Haddock – Staff Photographer
Will Whitby – Staff Writer

Our team also includes a gang of brilliant columnists, contributors, photographers and other creatives, including:

Alec Evans, Andreas Yiasoumi, Andy Leddington, Anthony Hunt, Ashley Partridge, Ashwin Bhandari, Courtney Brock, Dave Bull, Elliot Mcrae, Fay Cranham, Graham Berry, Harry Steel, Hayley Fearnley, Helen Messenger, James Lee, Jess Tagliani, Lee Allen, Louis Kerry, Matthew Wilson, Max Gayler, Nathan Heffernan, Ollie Connors, Paul Silver, Paul Storr, Rob Barbour, Ryan Johnston, Stephanie Evans, Susannah Bennett

If you’re interested in joining the team, send an email with some of your best, recent work to james at punktastic.com