Lightyear announce new documentary, ‘This Music Doesn’t Belong to You’

By Aaron Lohan

Derby ska punks Lightyear have announced that they will be working on a new documentary, entitled ‘This Music Doesn’t Belong to You’.

The film will look at the DIY punk scene of the late 90s and the early 2000s. More info can be found on the band’s Pledge Campaign page for the documentary.

Earlier this year Lightyear announced that they would be permanently reforming. The were originally active from 1997 to 2003, releasing an EP and two albums, 2001’s ‘Call of the Weasel Clan’ and 2003’s ‘Chris Gentlemens Hairdresser and the Railway Book Shop’, on Household Name Records, and were known for their ridiculous live performances. Despite peforming one off reunion shows in 2006, 2007, 2012, and 2015, the band have decided to properly reform and have teased that they’re writing new material.

The band will also be going on a UK tour this month with Unqualified Nurse Band and The Bar Stool Preachers via the following dates.

19 DERBY Hairy Dog w/ Replica Jesus + Vanilla Pod
20 DERBY Hairy Dog^+ w/ Cotton Weary + The Boom
21 LONDON The Garage^+ w/ Eat the Evidence + Miss Vincent
22 GLASGOW King Tuts*+
23 NEWCASTLE Think Tank*+
24 BRISTOL Thekla*+
25 STAFFORD The Cellar Bar*+
26 SOUTHAMPTON Joiners*+
27 LEAMINGTON SPA Zephyr Lounge*+
28 BRIGHTON The Haunt*+ w/ Summerslam88

^ w/ Fire Apple Red
* w The Bar Stool Preachers
+ w/ Unqualified Nurse Band

Some more recent news articles

ArcTanGent announces The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die for 2023

NEWS: Tigercub announce new album 'As Blue As Indigo'

Lonely the Brave release 'Keeper' documentary