The King Blues release surprise new EP

By Ben Tipple

The King Blues have unveiled a surprise new EP, entitled ‘Off With Their Heads’. The seven track EP is available to stream now via Spotify, and will appear on iTunes shortly.

“I’ve seen this pig fucking government dropping bombs for peace, slashing benefits, turning venues and clubs into coffee chains, they detest us, they detest our way of life, they detest our right to live and exist in a way that may not benefit their pockets for a second,” says Itch in a lengthy statement posted to Facebook. “Fuck them! Every time I see their smug Etonian faces squirming their way around announcing more cuts and talking down to anyone actually affected, it makes me want to smash them in. Sat in ivory towers announcing half a million pound ‘affordable’ homes while making people homeless bullingdon boy wankers. They have no compassion or humanity. It’s only a matter of time before heads start to roll…”

“I started writing again and before I knew it had pages and pages of lyrics. I called my friend Pete who put together some musicians around me and we wrote and recorded this EP super quick. I asked my friend OhBones Illustration to help me with the artwork and they did an incredible job, then I took it to Jamie and Fruitbag and asked if they wanted to help it come to life live which they agreed. So I called up my friend Pip and asked if he would put the record out and maybe shoot us a video… in 1 week! The next week we had a meeting, and shot a video and now here we are! It’s taken a lot of people pulling together and chipping in, but we all had one common goal which was to create a piece of protest art that hopefully can get you angry enough to join the fight.”

The record is the first to be released on the band’s Meatball Records, with the physical release available from the 26th February through Speech Development Records.

Watch the video for the EP’s title track below.

The King Blues will be supporting Enter Shikari at the end of the month.

18 GLASGOW O2 Academy
19 EDINBURGH Corn Exchange
20 NOTTINGHAM Capital FM Arena
22 BOURNEMOUTH International Centre
23 CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
25 MANCHESTER Victoria Warehouse
27 LONDON Alexandra Palace

Some more recent news articles

ArcTanGent announces The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die for 2023

NEWS: Tigercub announce new album 'As Blue As Indigo'

Lonely the Brave release 'Keeper' documentary