Josh Bannister leaves Milk Teeth; band to continue

By Ben Tipple

Yesterday evening, in an unexpected move, fast rising rockers Milk Teeth confirmed that vocalist and guitarist Josh Bannister would no longer be a member of the band.

“It’s a new year and a new start for Milk Teeth as our friend Josh has stepped down from the band,” they wrote in a shock Facebook announcement. “We wish him all the happiness in the world & the best of luck for the future.”

The statement went on to name Billy Hutton, of the soon-to-be defunct Hindsights, as Bannister’s temporary replacement. Milk Teeth also vowed to continue, promising “new music, videos, tours, festivals, yoyos and puppies all coming your way in 2016.”

Although it’s unusual for a prominent member of a band to leave at this stage, particularly immediately before the release of the debut album, Bannister provided some vague reasoning for his decision on his personal Twitter.

“Milk teeth is over for me now and I wish the guys luck and thanks to Billy for stepping in he’s the best guy for any job,” he tweeted. “I left before I had to leave music entirely. Do it while it feels right not because it’s worth while, that’s never what it’s about. And if anyone cares I’m already working on some new shit with some cool dogs. I did what I did so I’d never wanna stop making music.”

It places Milk Teeth in an interesting position, adapting to a new formation while supporting the release of an album featuring the now departed vocalist and guitarist. At least for the timebeing, Hutton is presumably going to perform Bannister’s parts live, yet whether this arrangement moves towards a more permanent position remains to be seen.

Milk Teeth could easily morph, placing Becky Blomfield at the forefront for all future material, or begin to write music with Hutton and Blomfield taking on duel vocal duties. Either way, this announcement pushes Milk Teeth into the second stage of their life before the first one has even started. It’s a tough ask, but when have Milk Teeth not been up for a challenge?

‘Vile Child’, the debut Milk Teeth full-length, is due on the 29th January 2016, ahead of the band touring alongside Tonight Alive and appearing at Download Festival later in the year.

18 LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town
20 NEWCASTLE University
23 PORTSMOUTH Pyramids Centre
24 BRISTOL O2 Academy 1
26 BIRMINGHAM O2 Institute

Some more recent news articles

ArcTanGent announces The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die for 2023

NEWS: Tigercub announce new album 'As Blue As Indigo'

Lonely the Brave release 'Keeper' documentary