Free BP Oil Spill benefit album from Community Records


New Orleans-based Community Records have put together a free 36-track compilation to help create awareness and progress in the wake of the BP oil spill disaster, the first anniversary of which was at the tail end of last month.

The compilation, titled ‘Head Above Water’, features the likes of MUSTARD PLUG, BOMB THE MUSIC INDUSTRY!, DAN POTTHAST (MxPx), SONIC BOOM SIX, ONSIND, THE FLAMING TSUNAMIS, WE ARE THE UNION, and the terrific ‘Jaguar Queen’ by THE FORTHRIGHTS & MADDIE RUTHLESS, a lush tune if ever there was one.

In addition, the compilation includes information about the disaster and details of how to donate to the Gulf Restoration Network. Click the following link for more information:

As a footnote, if you’re unaware of Community Records, check out the website in full. Run by members of jazz/reggae/punk outfit, FATTER THAN ALBERT, it’s one of the best of the new breed of ‘free-for-all’ record labels. Oh, and it contains lots and lots of free music from a host of terrific bands.

Some more recent news articles

ArcTanGent announces The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die for 2023

NEWS: Tigercub announce new album 'As Blue As Indigo'

Lonely the Brave release 'Keeper' documentary