Bayside stream new track, ‘Enemy Lines’

By Ben Tipple

Bayside have shared the first track to be taken from their recently announced seventh studio album, ‘Vacancy’. ‘Enemy Lines’ is one of 11 tracks that will appear on the record, due on the 19th August via Hopeless Records.

“This was the most difficult record to make, by far,” says vocalist and guitarist Anthony Raneri. “I moved to Nashville two-and-a-half years ago with my wife and baby. The plan was to go down for a couple of years, plant seeds and move back to NY. We came down and after a year of being here we split up. I was like, ‘do I live in Tennessee now? Alone?’ It was a crazy super isolated time where I didn’t know what was going to come next and moved into an apartment to try and sort things out. That’s where I wrote the record, I wrote Vacancy in that apartment. I had a couch, a TV, my bed, a desk, a computer and my guitar – everything else was in boxes, waiting for me to figure out where they were going to go. We were calling it the hotel, which is where the hotel on the cover came from; Vacancy had a double meaning, the physical and emotional experience. This is the first record I’ve written that’s had a theme to it, I didn’t want to write a typical break-up record, it’s not about what happened, it’s about the aftermath.”

Physical and digital pre-orders are available now.

01 Two Letters
02 I’ve Been Dead All Day
03 Enemy Lines
04 Not Fair
05 Pretty Vacant
06 Rumspringa (Heartbreak Road)
07 Mary
08 Maybe, Tennessee
09 The Ghost
10 It Doesn’t Make It True
11 It’s Not As Depressing As It Sounds

Some more recent news articles

ArcTanGent announces The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die for 2023

NEWS: Tigercub announce new album 'As Blue As Indigo'

Lonely the Brave release 'Keeper' documentary