Jesus Piece premiere new track ‘Curse Of The Serpent’

By Penny Bennett

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania-based metallic hardcore outfit Jesus Piece presents their violent debut LP ‘Only Self,’ now confirmed for release August 24th, through Southern Lord Recordings.

Jesus Pece has left craters in their path over recent years, quickly developing a reputation as one of the heaviest, most uncompromising acts both on record and on the stage. With the brutalizing grooves of Y2K-era metallic hardcore greats like Disembodied, Turmoil, and Buried Alive at the core, the band incorporates elements of noise, ominous tones, and haunting atmospheres into their dynamic songwriting. With crushing, modern, metallic production, Jesus Piece resides alongside the scene’s darkest and heaviest acts like Harm’s Way, Vein, Trail Of Lies, labelmates Xibalba, and more.

With eleven new tracks packed into a debilitating thirty-two-minute attack, ‘Only Self’ was recorded in Chicago at Bricktop Recording Studio with Andy Nelson (Weekend Nachos, Like Rats, Lord Mantis) mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Integrity, Nails, Full Of Hell), and completed with artwork by Dom Pabon.

Jesus Piece delivers one of the most anxiously-awaited albums of the hardcore/metal underground this year with ‘Only Self’, a record which will also prove itself as one of the year’s most vicious releases.

Photo by Amy Ha