Lightyear announce permanent reunion plus UK tour with Unqualified Nurse Band and The Bar Stool Preachers

By Aaron Lohan

Lightyear have announced that they will be permanently reforming.

The Derby ska punk ensemble were mainly active from 1997 to 2003, releasing an EP and two albums, 2001’s ‘Call of the Weasel Clan’ and 2003’s ‘Chris Gentlemens Hairdresser and the Railway Book Shop’, on Household Name Records, and were known for their ridiculous live performances. Despite peforming one off reunion shows in 2006, 2007, 2012, and 2015, the band have decided to properly reform and have teased that they’re writing new material. You can read the full announcement on Facebook.

In addition to this, the band have also announced that they’ll be going on a UK tour this October with Unqualified Nurse Band and The Bar Stool Preachers, the dates of which are listed below.

20 DERBY Hairy Dog^* w/ Cotton Weary + The Boom
21 LONDON The Garage^*
22 GLASGOW King Tuts
23 NEWCASTLE Think Tank
24 BRISTOL Thekla
25 STAFFORD The Cellar Bar
27 LEAMINGTON SPA Zephyr Lounge
28 BRIGHTON The Haunt

^ w/ Fire Apple Red
* w/o The Bar Stool Preachers

Some more recent news articles

NEWS: Tigercub announce new album 'As Blue As Indigo'

Lonely the Brave release 'Keeper' documentary

Free Livestream: Small Pond presents BAD POND LIVE 2020