pov logo

now playing on pov

Check out the best in new music, as chosen by the Punktastic team

Here's the latest...

The news for Monday 25 July 2016

Pretend Happy to support Moose Blood in Kingston

Pretend Happy have been added to Moose Blood’s headline show at the Rose Theatre in Kingston. The show takes place on August 4th, the eve of the release of Moose Blood’s highly-anticipated second album, ‘Blush.’ Pretend Happy released their debut album ‘Tired Eyes’ earlier this year, and recently appeared in our →

Silverstein, The Devil Wears Prada, and more announce UK tour

Silverstein and The Devil Wears Prada have announced a UK tour for later this year. They will hit the UK in November and December as part of their UK tour, which is dubbed the ‘Rise Up Tour. They will be joined by fellow Rise Records label mates Memphis May →

Ringworm stream new album, ‘Snake Church’

Cleveland hardcore/crossover band Ringworm are streaming their new album, ‘Snake Church’, over at Loudwire. It’s due for released on July 29th via Relapse Records, and is the follow up to their 2014 album, ‘Hammer of The Witch.’ Pre-orders for the album are available now, and you can listen ‘Snake →

Warzone set to reissue ‘Don’t Forget The Struggle, Don’t Forget The Streets’

Revelation Records have announced they will be reissuing the legendary Warzone album, ‘Don’t Forget The Struggle, Don’t Forget The Streets.’ It will be released on September 16th, and come with expanded liner notes by Luke Abbey (Warzone, Gorilla Biscuits). The album was originally released in 1987, and is a →

Creative Adult stream new track, ‘Moving Window’

Bay Area post-punk band, Creative Adult, have unveiled ‘Moving Window’ over at A.V. Club. It’s the latest track to be taken from the bands forthcoming album, ‘Fear Of Life’, which is released on August 5th via Run For Cover Records. Pre-orders for the album are available now, and you →

Clearer the Sky stream new album, ‘Held in Merciful Light’

Dundee post hardcore band Clearer the Sky are exclusively streaming their new album, ‘Held in Merciful Light’, at Idioteq. Pre-orders for the record are available through a collaboration of labels, including Make That a Take, Rage, Crust Baby, Rubaiyat Records, and Wolf Town DIY. It is due →

Nails reportedly go on sudden hiatus

While details on this are incredibly scarce, it would appear that Southern Californian metal/punk band, Nails, have gone on a sudden hiatus. Those who were following the Facebook event pages for the bands upcoming European tour were greeted with this message or similar early this morning: “Unfortunately the show Nails plus →

Pierce The Veil release video for ‘Circles’

Pierce The Veil have released a music video for ‘Circles.’ The track is taken from their most recent album, ‘Misadventures’, which was released last month via Fearless Records. You can watch the video for ‘Circles’ below, as well as see the dates for Pierce The Veils UK tour later this →

Avenged Sevenfold announce biggest UK tour to date

Californian metal titans, Avenged Sevenfold, have announced details of their biggest UK tour to date. The band will undertake an arena tour in January next year, which is rumoured to be the first in support of their yet-to-be-announced seventh album. The bands last album was ‘Hail To The King’, released →

Balance and Composure unveil brand new track, ‘Postcard’

After teasing new music for a few weeks, Balance and Composure have unveiled a brand new track, ‘Postcard.’ The track is the first single to be released from their newly announced album, ‘Light We Made’, which is released on October 7th via Vagrant Records. Pre-orders for the album are available →

Undo announce UK dates

Glaswegian indie punks Undo have announced a few UK dates will take place in August. The shows will be in support of their upcoming split 7″ with Jutland Songs. This also includes a record release show on the 26th August at Old Hairdressers in Glasgow. You can hear the full record →

Anna’s Anchor stream new single, ‘Hampton’

Irish emo/indie act, Anna’s Anchor, have unveiled a new track titled ‘Hampton.’ It’s taken from singer-songwriter Martyn Ryan’s debut album, ‘Nautical Miles’, which is released on September 23rd via Struggle Town and Never Meant records. Pre-orders are available now, and you can listen to ‘Hampton’ below. →

False Advertising unveil the video for ‘Scars’

Manchester indie rockers False Advertising premiered their new video for ‘Scars’ at Birthday for Breakfast. The track is the b-side to their current single, ‘Give It Your Worst’, out now on Too Pure Singles Club. The video is compiled of the band’s recents show and their studio sessions for →

Newmoon unveil music video for ‘Head of Stone’

Belgian shoegaze band, Newmoon, have unveiled a video for ‘Head of Stone’ over at Upset. The band released the single earlier this month, which is the first track to be taken from their highly anticipated new album, ‘Space’, which is released on October 10th. Digitial pre-orders are available for the →

Modern Baseball announce UK tour for August

Modern Baseball have announced a brief UK tour for next month. The band will play a handful of dates at the end of August around their performances at the Reading and Leeds Festivals. They will be joined on the tour by The Winter Passing and Vicky Speedboat. Modern Baseball released their →

Erik Chandler (Bowling For Soup) Announces Debut Solo Album

The Erik Chandler Band (the side project of Erik from Bowling For Soup) will be releasing their debut solo album, ‘The Truth’, on the 19th of August. Erik on the album album: “I’m very happy to finally release this album. It’s been a while in the works, and I’m excited →

A Day To Remember unveil new track, ‘Bullfight’

A Day To Remember have unveiled another new track, ‘Bullfight.’ It’s the latest single to be taken from the bands forthcoming album, ‘Bad Vibrations’, which is released on August 19th. Pre-orders for the album are available here, and you can listen to the track below, along with dates for the →

Luo stream new single, ‘In the Dark’

Brighton producer turned post rock/experimental band Luo are exclusively streaming their new single, ‘In the Dark’, for Clash Music. The seven minute song was originally found on 2014’s ‘Imprint EP’ on Small Pond Recordings, but has now been re-recorded for their upcoming debut album. Listen to ‘In the Dark’ →

Rare Breed And Friends Summer Sampler Up For Download

Rare Breed – American ska exports – have released their summer 2016 sampler, including label bands and donated tracks from bands including Less Than Jake, The Skints and The Slackers. It is totally free now from the label e-store. →

FOES and We Never Learned to Live announce co-headline tour

Liverpool band FOES have announced a co-headline tour with post hardcore group We Never Learned to Live. The tour will consist of a few dates in late August. FOES recently released their new single, ‘The Everest’, on Basick Records. AUGUST 25 CHESTER Live Rooms 26 CHELTENHAM Frog & Fiddle 27 BASINGSTOKE Sanctuary 28 BRIDGWATER Cobblestones 29 →

Want more news? Browse our huge 16-year archive

Or browse
by date